Picture
Incorporating art history into the classroom has always been an important component of my teaching. (You have to remember that I "grew up" as a beginning teacher in the era when Discipline Based Art Education [DBAE] was all the buzz.)

Another thing I have found fascinating is how art images are being infused into mass media / visual culture in the last decade. In fact, I made this the focus of my MA thesis in 2009..."Art and the Evolution of Mass Media."


In honor of Edvard Munch's birthday today (1863), I thought I'd share the unit that I developed for my Digital Art History class. (See file below.)

*Helen Frankenthaler was born in 1928. I'm sure there are many great ideas out there to celebrate the work of Frankenthaler. Please share!
source of Munch's birthday: http://arthistory.about.com/od/artistsbdays/l/bl_dec.htm
image source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:The_Scream.jpg

edvard_munch_the_scream_unit.pdf
File Size: 567 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File

12/12/2012 12:46:08 pm

At Last! How does one become a "follower" on your blog? I couldn't find a button to click on! Merry Christmas!

:)Pat

Reply
12/12/2012 06:42:09 pm

Pat...

I'm new to this and haven't figured out if you can follow my blog like you can in other blog formats/programs/sites. However, I believe you can add my blog to a reader like Google Reader by adding http://simplyronda.weebly.com/1/feed to your subscriptions.

When I started this whole new online adventure, I went with a whole website instead of just a blog. Who knows where this is going to take me.

Hope you can "add" me to follow along...and comment often!

Ronda

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.